Nostalgia, irony, and the hangover from hell

Graduation season brings about reunion season. I recently took on the task of planning and coordinating my high school’s 10 year reunion. There were a lot of people who got loud and had opinions early on about where it should be held, whether there should be booze, how much it should cost, etc. When it came down to it, and everything was decided, these people didn’t offer to help, and thankfully, didn’t even show up. I had people message me and say they wanted to help, and then never heard another peep from them once I mentioned something they could help with. One classmate actually stepped up and have a flat monetary donation to help us get the deposits paid in time. It blew me away that someone who had no intention whatsoever of attending, was willing to help out like that.

It was ironic to see everyone huddled and mingling around the bar, considering that was the biggest complaint when we were planning. The venue was upstairs (above a public bar) but not even a part of it. The space happens to be owned by the person who owns the bar, and they were generous enough to provide a full bar and service for our event. You couldn’t even see the bar because there were so many people hovering around it. Now that everything is said and done, if their hadn’t been alcohol involved, it may very well have been the worst party I’ve ever been to.

It was a small party, in comparison to the size of our graduating class, but I rather enjoyed seeing those who did show up. A couple faces were missed dearly. We had a decent mix of people show up, but somehow, even ten years after high school, the cliques still exist. I think I had more enjoyable conversations with the people I didn’t really know in high school than I did with the “popular” kids.

My husband did an amazing job of keeping me calm and grounded. He let me get wasted retarded though, which could have been bad. He made small talk with my old classmates and their dates, he entertained them with his usual charm, and he drove my drunk ass home! Next time I will listen to him in the beginning when he tells me, “No, don’t plan this thing. You’re just going to get stressed. It’s just gonna make you angry, blah blah blah.” He might sound mean when he says these things, but they are all true.

I’d like give a huge thank you to my planning partner, April! She was absolutely amazing, and I couldn’t have pulled it off without her. We made a pretty good team. Wish I could say the same for the other person, who shall remain nameless for the time being. He did help in a big way by gathering all the donations for our raffle, but then somehow all the money that he gathered from raffle sales went missing at the end of the night. I’m still thoroughly disgusted and can’t even talk to him. We were supposed to be raising money to donate back to the school, and now there is next to nothing. I really don’t know what to do now, but I was too drunk to deal with the situation rationally when it all happened.

All things considered, it was a damn good night, all if the stress, time, and energy that April and I put in, paid off in the end. I think everyone had a pretty good time. I was afraid that maybe they were bored, and I had under planned, but my hubby says I planned just right. All I know is that I had a blast, but never again will I plan something like that. Party planning is a hobby of mine, but never ever again will I throw myself to the wolves and attempt something that huge, without solid help from start to finish. I hope whoever decides to plan the next one has better luck and more “audience participation” than we did.

20130617-153855.jpg

Leave a Reply

