Greener pastures??

My ten year anniversary with my current employer is rapidly approaching, and I can honestly say that I am a little frightened. Lower-level retail management pays the bills, but it’s a trap! There is no room for advancement when everyone in upper-management is, or has been, where they’re at until they get nixed or retire. I’ve always thought that if I hit the ten year mark, that was it. I’d be a lifer.

I’m afraid I’ve been stuck here for so long that I don’t know how to do anything besides retail, even though I have a degree. Maybe I wouldn’t feel so trapped if there was a promotion available. But then if I took that next step, would I be stuck here for another ten years? Would I be happy enough with a promotion to enjoy another ten?

Don’t get the wrong idea here. I am thrilled to have a job, and one that pays above minimum wage. I’m pretty sure I’m not alone when I say, there has got to be something better out there!

My husband and I have recently been entertaining the idea of moving. When I say moving, I basically mean running away. Getting out of the state, away from all the stupid people who seem to be piling up around us. Every day the news gets scarier and closer to home. I am so sick of it all! I never really saw myself living in the methamphetamine capital of the US, or #5 on the list of 10 most dangerous cities for women to live in the US. Needless to say, we are ready for a fresh start.

Granted, there are stupid people everywhere, crime is in every neighborhood these days, and government idiocracy is only getting worse. I know that there is no “perfect place” out there, but I’d like to believe that there is a perfect place for us. Somewhere we feel safe and comfortable enough to raise our children and grow old together.

The tricky thing about moving somewhere wild and crazy (out of our comfort zone), is whether or not we can find employment, and how fast that might occur. That’s where the ten years of service comes in handy. I can transfer to any location that has a position available, but with the differences in state minimums and things of that nature, I might have to consider a pay cut or a temporary demotion. We have over 7,000 stores nationwide, but there are a few blackout states. If I left my job now, things could get hairy in a hurry, should this moving venture actually work out.

I want a new job, one that’s actually a satisfying career, but maybe what I’m doing now will have to pay the bills for a little while longer. It would definitely make for an easier transition, if we ever get around to making that giant leap.

I have a ton of research to do in the coming months. We’re going to have to do a lot of praying and have a lot of serious conversations to figure just exactly what we think we want and what God knows is best for us.

All of our immediate family lives in the area, and most of our dearest friends live nearby. If this ends up being more than just some crazy conversation that we had once or twice on a long road trip, then we would be leaving all of that behind. For a little while at least.

The hardest part right now is the not knowing. The saving for someday. The thousands of ideas bouncing around with no legitimate walls to contain them all. Sometimes I feel like my brain is going to explode with all of the what ifs and maybes. And then sometimes my chest feels like it may burst with all the excitement and anticipation of starting this crazy adventure with the love of my life. If it doesn’t actually happen, at least we’ll be miserable together. If money wasn’t an issue, I would be packed and ready to go anywhere by the end of next week!

20130728-035304.jpg

Leave a Reply

