29 for the first time

20131201-224305.jpg

Why is aging so scary? Especially for us women-folk? Maybe it’s the realization that we’re all grown up now. Or perhaps the disappointment in not being where we thought we would be by this time in our lives.

My hubby tells me pretty regularly that I’m “getting older and uglier everyday, while he’s getting more and more distinguished and better looking.” He’s a real charmer!

Maybe that’s why women are so afraid to get older. Men age so much more gracefully than we do. We have to rely on super firming, line erasing, gravity defying, anti-wrinkle, pore minimizing, grey covering, blemish concealing, uv protecting, magical fix-all cosmetics.

Not to mention all the hormonal changes our bodies go through!! Acne that’s reminiscent of puberty in our late twenties? What is this crap!? The aches and pains from weight gain, and a full-time job that keeps you on your feet all day. Mood swings, that used to only happen once a month, happen all the time now.

The scariest part?? It only gets worse from here! But wait, there’s good news! It doesn’t have to be all that bad.

I’m still twenty-something! I still have time to turn things around before I hit the big 3-0!!

I personally only wear make-up for myself (or the hubby). I only get dolled up on date nights or girls’ night out. I find it liberating. It makes me feel real on a daily basis. Also, it takes next to no time to get ready for work everyday! *bonus* (This probably won’t change…ever.)

But, exercise, healthy diet…I know, I know, we’ve heard it all before… I don’t have to be over-weight, sore, and tired all the time. I don’t have to keep workin’ for the man. I can do anything I want!

So, instead of dreading 29 I am going to embrace it! It’s going to be the year for me! I’m gonna turn my life around, so that next year, when “old” comes knocking, I’ll be ready for it.

I have surrounded myself with some of the most wonderful people out there! I have amazing friends, and loving family, and the most supportive husband! The older I get, the better life gets!

Birthday resolutions are much more exciting than New Years resolutions. Make a goal for yourself, and celebrate you on the one day of the year that is ALWAYS all about you!

Leave a Reply

