A mother’s love

As an adopted child, whose biological mother recently sent her a Facebook friend request, I felt I needed to blog today.

Today is a day to celebrate our moms for all of the things they have done for us over the years. They have made countless sacrifices, kissed our boo boos, sung lullabies, dried our tears, and calmed our fears. They have been our confidantes.

Mine taught me right from wrong, the power of strong work ethic, and how to be a responsible adult. She taught me how to be a loving wife, and more importantly, she showed me how to keep God at the center of my marriage.

With the recent contact from my biological mother, my mind has been reeling. I think I’ve finally made sense of my feelings, with a little help from a poem that hangs in the hall at my parents’ house.

20140511-180002.jpg

Sometimes I still have feelings of bitterness and resentment towards my biological mother, even though I forgave her many many years ago.

I realize now, that I need to be thankful for her, and the decisions she made. She may not have been prepared to be a mother, nor mature enough at the time to definitively decide how to handle the situation, but she loved me enough to actually give birth to me. She loved me enough to acknowledge that she couldn’t handle the responsibility of being a mom. She loved me enough to make sure that I ended up in a good home, with people who would love and raise me as their own.

So on this Mother’s Day, I just want to thank both of my mothers, for always having my best interests in mind.

Love your mothers friends, for all the things they do.

Happy Mother’s Day!

Leave a Reply

