Always a silver lining

image

It’s been awhile since I had something to write that I felt was worth sharing with the masses. These thoughts have been rolling around in my brain for a couple weeks now, so I figured it was time to share.

Nine months ago I was transferred to a new store (technically my old store) and I was outraged. I didn’t want to leave the family I had made in Redding. I didn’t want to commute 25 miles one way. I didn’t want to spend an extra hour in my car every day. I didn’t want to rack up the miles on my brand new car. I don’t like change! Needless to say, this unwelcome change made me miserable and unhappy in my work.

Only recently did I realize, that it wasn’t the move that made me miserable, it was ME. I had been making myself unhappy with all the bitterness and anger that I kept letting fester inside me. When I really sat there and thought about it, there was a multitude of reasons for me to be happy with where I was in life. Trust me, I thought about it a lot! When you commute an hour a day, that’s a lot of time to think, also a lot of time to rock out! Have you ever noticed how much Taylor Swift songs make you think about your life? It’s pretty crazy!

Don’t worry, I did not have an TSwift inspired epiphany. But I did find my silver lining while driving 50 miles a day.

Working in Red Bluff has actually been a lot less stressful than Redding was. This is especially wonderful, considering I suffer from Essential Tremor (ET) which can sometimes be stress induced. I can count on one hand, the number of ET days I have had in the last 9 months.

The schedule that I have now, allows me so much more time to work my Damsel in Defense business. January 2015 was my personal best month, but then May 2015 surpassed that, and I was #1 in sales on our Guardian Angels team! I love having a boss and co-workers who are super supportive of the Damsel mission and who are totally willing and flexible when it comes to scheduling conflicts.

I have an excellent working relationship with all of my new co-workers. It’s clear that we are all working toward the same goal. We’ve gotten really good at sharing ideas and brainstorming when needed. I absolutely love being on the same page with everyone I work with. It makes for a much more enthusiastic work place. In the 9 months that I have been there, we have had some set-backs, but we keep finding new ways to work things out. We brought our customer service scores up from “challenge” to “front store excellent” status! That’s amazing! I have been recognized for my “legendary” customer service two months in a row!

I can honestly say that I have never (in 12 years) been happier in my work, and it clearly shows. I love both of my jobs!

I believe it was Theodore Roosevelt who said, “Comparison is the thief of joy.” I have found this to be profoundly true as of late. And I don’t mean just comparing your life to your friends’ lives, which I know we’ve all done at some point. Quit comparing your life to what it used to be, what you used to have, and where you used to be. Live in the moment! Since I have started focusing on the blessings in my life right now, the things I have the opportunity to do, and people I get to share those moments with, I have been exponentially happier!

You should really try it. It’s good for you!

image

Leave a Reply

